• Akademie der Künste / Hanseatenweg / Blue Room
Research Workshop 2023: Toward a Minor Tech

with Research Workshop participants

Moderated by Christian Ulrik Andersen, Daniel Chavez Heras, Geoff Cox, Søren Pold, Magdalena Tyzlik-Carver, Gabriel Menotti

  • Presentations and publication launch
Passes only
Research Workshop 2023: Toward a Minor Tech - Research Workshop participants

The three characteristics of minor literature are the deterritorialization of language, the connection of the individual to a political immediacy, and the collective arrangement of utterance. “Minor”, then, no longer characterises certain literatures, but describes the revolutionary conditions of any literature within what we call the great or established.

The presentations will launch a collective newspaper publication following open exchanges and a three-day PhD/research workshop in London. Presentations question some of the universal ideals of technology and its problems of scale, further explored through experimental print production.

“There is a problem with scale”, as Anna Tsing puts it, in its connection to modernist master narratives that organise life at an increasingly globalised scale (the “bigness” of capitalism). Instead, we need to “notice” the small details and not assume these need to be scaled up to be effective. In technical fields, there is a similar problem with scale, as Big Tech dominates, with ensuing environmental damage; big computing begets big data. In contrast, what we are referring to as minor tech (like small tech), operates at a human scale (more peer-to-peer than server-client): “Small technology, smallnet and smolnet are associated with communities using alternative network infrastructures, delinking from the commercial Internet.” ( Damaged Earth Catalogue )

How do the universals of technology relate to minor practices and collective action? Can scale bring together new material and cultural assemblages between humans and nonhumans, ecology, and technological infrastructure and systems?

Presenting Participants are Camille Crichlow, Teodora Sinziana Fartan, Jack Wilson, Susanne Förster, Alasdair Milne, Inga Luchs, Inte Gloerich, Edoardo Lomi, Macon Holt, ooooo, vo ezn, ai carmela netîrk, nate wessalowski, Shusha Niederberger, Roel Roscam Abbing, Yasemin Keskintepe, Sasha Anikina, Sandy Yu, Mateus Domingos, Freja Kir Kirchheiner.

Organised by DARC/SHAPE at Aarhus University, CSNI at London South Bank University, in collaboration with King's College, Queen's University, Varia and transmediale.